27 Apr 2018
4 May 2018
4 May 2018
4 May 2018
11 May 2018
18 May 2018

Rangoon Music Review

Boxoffice Results

  1. INR 27.99 Cr.
  2. INR 19.11 Cr.
  3. INR 155.65 Cr.
  4. INR 0.23 Cr.
  5. INR 43.95 Cr.


By Tulsi, News Network

Set in the backdrop of World War 2, 1944, this romantic love triangle starring Shahid Kapoor, Saif Ali Khan and Kangana Ranaut is definitely going to be a blockbuster.

Riding on the success of movies like Omkar and Haider, the makers of Rangoon surely have given us a promising story and team of actors.

The trailer has everything – love, passion, anger, hatred, revenge, war, and amongst all that, a whole lot of humour. As for the music album, it surely isn’t ordinary either!

1. Bloody Hell

The first track is shockingly different and hatke, and yet sort of unimpressive. Even Sunidhi Chauhan hasn’t managed to impress us with her usually vibrant voice, and the video too is a bit of a drag (including Kangana, who plays an actress/performer called ‘Miss Julia’ in the film). I really tried hard to like it, and even heard it several times to let it grow on me. But it didn’t. However, I still feel it’s a must-hear, because it surely is interesting in its own way.

2. Yeh Ishq Hai

In Arijith Singh’s forever-romantic voice, this number is a breath-takings portrayal of Shahid Kapoor and Kangana Ranaut’s love. The video is enchanting, and Arijith is extra-dreamy. Sasha and Kangana’s lovemaking scenes are so intense, it makes Ranveer Singh and Vaani Kapoor’s million kisses in Befikre seem like teenage love. Truly, the older times had a different meaning of love. Haven’t seen anything quite like this in a while, and I can’t help but put the video on replay. Love this one!
The female version is sung by the melodious Rekha Bhardwaj. I cannot decide which version I love more.

3. Mere Miyan Gaye England

A brand-new version of Mere Piya Gaye Rangoon, in Rekha Bhardwaj’s voice, and a quite interesting one (though very, very random in its lyrics). Kangana looks lovely in the red lehenga choli, but the choreography has gone completely wrong, unfortunately. Beyond a point, this song is not quite tolerable.

4. Tippa

A playful track that teases with water drops and train engines sounds, this one is as unconventional as all the other tracks. Sung by Sukhwinder Singh, Rekha Bhardwaj, Sunidhi Chauhan and O.S. Arun, it takes time for the listener to understand that it’s a love track.

5. Ek Dooni Do

This fast-tempo track is another one having Kangana, urf Miss Julia, take over the stage. Rekha Bhardwaj’s voice is electric. The song is as retro as it can get, and we love it!

6. Alvida

Arijith Singh is back with this heartbreaking number and his soulful voice. It’s truly one of the most beautiful numbers I have heard lately, is a song that doesn’t need a video for support. In my opinion is the best one of the album.

7. Julia

Named after Kangana’s character, this song is a tribute to her. It’s sung by Sukhwinder Singh, K.K., Kunal Ganjawalla and Vishal Bhardwaj. It’s raw yet melodious, and the best part is how the slow tempo picks up into a foot-tapping number, adding a colonial touch to it. What a wonderful composition!  

8. Chori Chori

Another song in the voice of Rekha Bhardwaj, and Kangana on stage. The track brings back to Victorian era so tastefully. The lyrics are catchy too.

9. Rangoon Theme

Penetrating and beautiful, the theme track sums up the intensity of the story – the love, the pain, the sadness and the power.

10. Be Still

Well-fitted in the setting of the British era, this English song in Dominique Cerejo’s voice, is a lovely melodious love song. It’s a ballad, with some salsa and some romance.

11. Shimmy Shake

Vivienne Pocha closes the album with this foot-tapping English track. I don’t quite know what to make of it, but yes, you can surely try some dance moves yourself!

A mind-blowing album that has ensured that I count every day till the date of the release, which is 24th February.