Dharmendra, Shabana Azmi, Mira Nair honoured with Padma Bhushan


By Hindustan Times
Veteran actors Dharmendra and Shabana Azmi and filmmaker of international repute Mira Nair were named for the Padma Bhushan, the country's third highest civilian honour on the eve of Republic Day on Wednesday.
The three have been chosen in the art-cinema category.
After making his debut in 1960, Dharmendra, also known as Bollywood's original He Man, went on to do a variety of work. From the lyrical Bandini and the serious Satyakam to comic classics like Chupke Chupke and, of course, the cult entertainer Sholay, he did it all -- and continues to entertain the audience with his charm. Among his last releases were Yamla Pagla Deewana and Tell Me O Kkhuda, in both of which he shared the frame with his children.
As one of the few actresses who have successfully featured in experimental and mainstream cinema, Shabana, who received the Padma Shri in 1988, will now be honoured with the Padma Bhushan. A five-time National Award winner, she has proved her mettle in films like Ankur, Nishant, Arth, Masoom, Godmother and Fire as well as in movies like Honeymoon Travels Pvt Ltd, Sorry Bhai! and It's A Wonderful Afterlife. She has also dabbled in international films, and done her bit for social work as well.
US-based Mira has found international recognition with films like Salaam Bombay, Monsoon Wedding, Vanity Fair, The Namesake and Amelia. The National award-winning filmmaker is currently busy with The Reluctant Fundamentalist, which is based on a book of the same name.
Nair's The Reluctant Fundamentalist also features Shabana in a pivotal role.
Bhupen Hazaria, Mario Miranda awarded with Padma Vibhushan
Singer Bhupen Hazarika and cartoonist Mario Miranda (both posthumously) have been given Padma Vibhushan. The 77 Padma Shri awardees include Ghazal singer Anup Jalota, music director Vanraj Bhatia and sports personalities Zafar Iqbal and Limba Ram.