Deepika Padukone to be honoured with Smita Patil Memorial Award


By Hindustan Times

Bollywood actor Deepika Padukone would be honoured with the biennial Smita Patil Memorial Award instituted by Priyadarshni Academy for her contribution to the film industry.

The award would be presented to her at the 28th anniversary global awards function of the Priyadarshni Academy on September 18 here, its Chairman Nanik Rupani said in a statement here today.

Several Bollywood divas have received this honour before Deepika Padukone.

Immediate competition considered, haven't Vidya Balan and Kareena Kapoor done much more to earn the accolade?

After debuting with Parineeta, Vidya Balan starred in films like Paa, Ishqiya and more recently The Dirty Picture, Kahaani. Kareena Kapoor too has films like Refugee, Chameli, Omkara, Jab We Met to her credit.

Here's the complete list of recipients from Bollywood of Smita Patil Memorial Award before Deepika Padukone:

Vidya Balan - 2010
Priety Zinta - 2008
Kareena Kapoor - 2006
Urmila Matondkar - 2004
Karisma Kapoor - 2002
Aishwarya Rai - 2000
Tabu - 1998
Madhuri Dixit - 1996
Manisha Koirala - 1994
Meenakshi Sheshadri - 1993


On the occasion, noted industrialist Kumar Mangalam Birla would be honoured with Harish Mahindra Memorial Global Award for outstanding contribution to "globalisation of Indian industry."

Dr Samir Brahmachari, Director General, Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, would be presented award for outstanding contribution to "science-led inclusive innovation."

Nirj Deva, Member of European Parliament, would be felicitated for outstanding contribution to "international development."

HDFC Managing Director Aditya Puri would be honoured for outstanding contribution as a "visionary leader in banking industry."

Dr Jacques Rogozinski of Inter-American Investment Corporation, USA, would get an award for outstanding contribution to "economic development leveraging on small and medium enterprises."

Milind Deora will be felicitated for his induction in the Union Cabinet as a Minister of State for Communication and IT while Piyush Goyal will be honoured for his appointment as a member of Rajya Sabha.

The awards shall be presented by Union Health and Family Welfare Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad, Maharashtra Assembly Speaker Dilip Walse-Patil and state Food and Civil Supplies Minister Anil Deshmukh.