Salim Khan, 4 others declined to accept Padma awards in 2015

Boxoffice Results

  1. INR 0.87 Cr.
  2. INR 62.37 Cr.
  3. INR 6.60 Cr.
  4. INR 85.19 Cr.
  5. INR 150.76 Cr.



Salim Khan, noted script writer and father of Bollywood star Salman Khan, and four others have declined to accept the Padma awards in 2015. Minister of State for Home Kiren Rijiju said in Rajya Sabha that in accordance with the normal practice, willingness of the person proposed to be conferred Padma awards is informally ascertained to the extent possible before the announcement of the award.

"Five persons, including Salim Khan, declined to accept the Padma awards in 2015," he said, in reply to a written question. This year the President has approved conferment of Padma awards to 104 persons -- nine Padma Vibhushan, 20 Padma Bhushan and 75 Padma Shri awardees.

As many as 17 of the awardees are women and the list also includes 17 persons from the category of foreigners, NRIs, PIOs and four posthumous awardees.

Padma Awards, one of the highest civilian awards of the country, are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

The awards are given in various disciplines or fields of activities, viz. art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc.

Padma Vibhushan is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; Padma Bhushan for distinguished service of high order and Padma Shri for distinguished service in any field. The awards are announced on the eve of Republic Day every year.