GIMA voting process starts

Mumbai, Aug 30 (IANS) The Global Indian Music Academy (GIMA), which honours artistic achievement, technical proficiency and overall excellence in Indian music, has started the voting process Tuesday to find the winners of the Chevrolet GIMA Awards 2011.

GIMA awards, which will be held Sep 22 at the Kingdom of Dreams, Gurgaon, is based on a peer-voting system wherein the first ever established Academy of over 280 members ranging from music directors, producers, technicians, composers and leaders come together to cast votes for nominees across the Chevrolet GIMA Awards categories to find the winners.

This year Pyarelal, Dr. L Subramaniam, Alka Yagnik, Shankar Mahadevan, Jagjit Singh, Bhushan Kumar, Pankaj Udhas and Vijay Lazarus, among others, lent their support to the voting process.

"GIMA provides a unified platform for musicians across the country, giving equal prominence to film and non-film music making for a holistic Awards presentation. I am pleased to align with the Global Indian Music Academy as the Goodwill Ambassador," veteran singer Asha Bhosle said in a statement.


Box Office Results

  1. Kill Dil INR 23 cr.
  2. The Shaukeens INR 21.3 cr.
  3. Rang Rasiya INR 2.5 cr.
  4. Super Nani INR 1.4 cr.
  5. Happy New Year INR 200.7 cr.

Movie Reviews