New annual awards in K.L. Saigals' honour

New Delhi, June 17 (IANS) To keep the memory of Bollywood's legendary singer Kundan Lal Saigal alive, a Delhi-based arts and culture organisation has instituted annual awards which will be conferred June 20.

The awards will be given in a star-studded musical tribute to Saigal, "Saaz Aur Aawaz - K.L. Saigal Night", at the Siri Fort Auditorium in the capital to late filmmaker B.R. Chopra, composer Khayyam, thespian Dilip Kumar in the lifetime category, anchor-singer Sudesh Bhonsle, vocalist Agam Kumar Nigam, music directors Shankar Mahadevan and Monty Sharma in the category of established artists and anchor-singer Akriti Kakkar in the young star category.

Announcing the awards Wednesday, filmmaker Sandeep Marwah and music composer R.P. Sinha, a retired