National Awards held at the capital finally


By IndiaFM News Bureau

The 53rd National Film Awards, delayed since two years, were finally presented at Vigyan Bhavan in New Delhi. The award ceremony kept on delaying due to the orders given to DFFI to consider uncensored films for the competition by Supreme Court.

Rang De Basanti clearly, ruling the roost won maximum awards from Best Popular Film to home awards Best Audiography, Best Editing and Best Male Playback Singer. Present at the occasion, director Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra said that the movie has become bigger than everyone; somewhere it has touched the deep cord of the nation and entered the subconscious. Rahul Dholakia took away the Best Director Award for Parzania and Sarika bagged the Best Actress Award for the same film.

Also, present at the occasion were Abhishek and Shweta Bachchan, feeling proud of Amitabh Bachchan, who walked away with the Best Actor Award for Black.

Kaalpurush won the Best feature film Award.

Pradeep Sarkar was honoured with the Indira Gandhi Award for the Best First Film of a Director for Parineeta. And the Nargis Dutt Award was won by Jayaraj for the Malayalam film Daivanamathil as the Best Feature Film on National Integration.

Vishal Bharadwaj's Blue Umbrella won him the Best children's film Swarn Kamal Award while Kannada film Thutturi got the award for the Best Film on Environment Conservation.

Naseeruddin Shah and Urvashi won the Best Supporting actor and actresses for Iqbal and Malayalam film Achhuvinte Amma respectively. Anupam Kher was honoured with Special Jury Award for his performance in Maine Gandhi Ko Nahin Maara.

Naresh Iyer and Shreya Goshal bagged the Rajat Kamal Best Playback Singers Awards for ‘Ru Ba Ru’ from Rang De Basanti and ‘Apne Asoo Peene Ke Liye’ from Paheli respectively.

Riding Solo to the Top of the World directed by Gaurav A Jani, bagged the best non-feature film while the Best Film Critic Award went to Baradwaj Rangan. Black by Sanjay Leela Bhansali was honoured by the Best Feature Film Award in Hindi.