Dilip Kumar gets standing ovation at 54th National Awards

New Delhi, Sep 2 (IANS) Bollywood thespian Dilip Kumar received a standing ovation at the 54th National Film Awards ceremony when he was conferred with the lifetime achievement award Tuesday by President Pratibha Patil.

Patil gave the award to Dilip Kumar, who came on stage accompanied by wife Saira Bano, who is also an actress.

The 85-year-old actor, who has delivered landmark performances in films like "Devdas" (1955), "Mughal-E-Azam" (1960), "Ganga Jamuna" (1961), "Karma" (1986) and others, graced the occasion despite his ailing condition. He could even barely walk to the stage.

Apart from Dilip Kumar, the lifetime achievement award was also conferred on melody queen Lata Mangeshkar and southern actress B. Saroja Devi to commemorate the 60th anniversary of India's Independence in 2006.

Though B. Saroja Devi and Dilip Kumar were present at the event to collect their awards, Lata's nephew, Adinath Mangeshkar, received the honour on her behalf.

It was Bollywood's day at the National Awards with the heart-warming "Lage Raho Munna Bhai" bagging four awards for best popular film providing wholesome entertainment, best screenplay, best lyrics and best supporting actor.

"It's an honour to receive the National Award. It comes at a time when you have forgotten about it. I'm really happy to get the recognition," Raj Kumar Hirani, the director of the film who brought Mahatma Gandhi back into the popular reckoning, told IANS.

Vidhu Vinod Chopra, the producer of "Lage Raho Munna Bhai", was present with his entire "Munnabhai" team at the award ceremony but when his name was announced, he was nowhere to be seen. He made a hasty appearance a few minutes later to collect his award.

Konkona Sen Sharma, who got her second award, was equally excited and said: "You feel great when your hard work is recognised. I'm really happy and elated.”

Another Bollywood filmmaker, Vishal Bharadwaj was honoured here. He received best jury award for his critically acclaimed "Omkara", based on William Shakespeare's play "Othello".

Madhur Bhandarkar was honoured with