Devgn, SRK lock horns for award!


By Hindustan Times

Big budget films Once Upon A Time in Mumbaai, My Name Is Khan and Rajneeti lead the list with 17, 14, 12 nominations respectively for the 6th Apsara Awards, which are being held in association with Hindustan Times. For the most-anticipated top three awards - Best Film, Best Actor and Best Actress - Rajneeti, Once Upon A Time In Mumbaai, Band Baaja Baraat, Dabangg, Ishqiya, My Name is Khan and Golmaal 3 have been shortlisted.

For the Best Singer (female), Sunidhi Chauhan has been nominated for Sheila ki jawaani and Ainvayi ainvayi while Mamta Sharma received one for Munni badnaam hui.

Anushka Sharma (Band Baaja Baarat), Kajol (My Name is Khan), Kareena Kapoor (Golmaal 3), Vidya Balan (Ishqiya) and Aishwarya Rai Bachchan (Guzaarish) are vying for the Best Actress award.

The nominees for Best Actor are Ajay Devgn (Once Upon a Time in Mumbaai), Shah Rukh Khan (My Name is Khan), Hrithik Roshan (Guzaarish), Ranbir Kapoor (Rajneeti) and Salman Khan (Dabangg).

Prakash Jha (Rajneeti), Milan Luthria (Once Upon a Time in Mumbaai), Karan Johar (My Name is Khan), Dibakar Banerjee (Love Sex Aur Dhoka) and Sanjay Leela Bhansali (Guzaarish) will vie for the Best Director award.

Ramesh Sippy, president, Film and Television Producers Guild of India says, “The Indian film industry has had a thrilling year with the likes of both, small and big budget films reigning equally at the box office.” The awards will take place in the second week of January and will be telecast on the 23rd.