A 'calculated' prediction on Bollywood Awards 2007


By IndiaFM

Fast forward yourself a few months from now to the spree of Bollywood Awards 2007. By now I am habituated to the way awards are handed out to Bollywood films and film personalities year after year (no I ain't talking about buying ‘em). Whether it is Filmfare Awards, Screen Award, Zee Cine Awards, Sansui Awards, Stardust award, Moonlitnite award (okay the last one does not exist) we know the winners are more or less the same. Except that some award functions are a little more biased (remember Zee Cine Awards giving the best movie to Gadar once when Lagaan hogged the limelight, simply because Gadar was produced by Zee entertainment), while there are other award shows that give a best movie award to a different movie just to ‘appear’ different.The best of the lot however is the Filmfare Award which seeks to satisfy everybody (even Aamir Khan) by giving awards to one and all of the bright fraternity. Filmfare excels in giving special awards if they are not able to accommodate a certain actor or technician in its list of categories. Remember Govinda getting an award for being the most popular entertainer because they couldn’t accommodate him in any other category?

Though this is a little early to announce Bollywood Awards 2007, what follows is a calculated (clichéd) prediction on the Filmfare Award and many other awards that will precede or follow it. You are free to argue with me on the choice of popular awards:

Best movie of 2007 : Om Shanti Om

Best director: Shimit Amin (Chak de)

Best actor: Akshay Kumar (Bhool Bhulaiya) …Filmfare and other awards will try being different this time. Akshay Kumar is really overwhelming Bollywood!

Best actress: Vidya Balan (Bhool Bhulaiya)…As for Kareena fans, there is something awaiting her.

Best actor critics award: Shahrukh Khan (Chak de)..Of course, since Filmfare will give another actor the best actor award, they will try and fit SRK in the critics award category.

Best actress critics award: Kareena Kapoor (Jab we met)..There you go!

Best movie critics award: Chak de (although Life in a Metro also stands a chance)

Best actor in a villain’s role: Viveik Oberoi (Shoot out at Lokhandwala..you have got to hand it to him)

Best actor in a comic role: Govinda (Partner). Since Akshay Kumar has moved on to better pastures!

Best supporting actor award: Riteish Deshmukh (Heyy Babyy or Dhamaal)

Best supporting actress: Saagarika Ghatge(Chak de). She may not win the debut award because it is reserved for Deepika Padukone(lol) but since she was a team player in Chak de and pin-up girl of many boys , Preeti Sabharwal stands a good chance.

Best male debut: Ranbir Kapoor (Saawariya )

Best female debut: Deepika Padukone (even Deepika can answer this!)

Best story: Life in a Metro

Best screenplay: Om Shanti Om

Best choreography: Om Shanti Om

Best cinematography: Om Shanti Om

Best Art Direction: Saawariya (finally!)

Best sound: Shoot out at Lokhandwala

Best action:Shoot out at Lokhandwala

Best male play back singer: KK (Ankhon mein Teri…Om Shanti Om)

Best female playback singer: Shreya Goshal (Yeh ishq haye…Jab we met)

Best lyrics: Aankhon mein teri ..Om Shanti Om..Javed Akhtar(one more time!)

Best music-Vishaal and Shekhar(Om Shanti Om). Well tried Pritam..He has given some of the best musical hits of 2007 like Bhool Bhulaiya, Jab we met and Life in Metro. He simply makes for a great copy(no pun intended). Sooner or later, Pritam may just have a ‘copywritten’ award just for him.

Pssst: If there was a Raspberry award style award for the worst movie of the year, Ram Gopal Verma ki Aag would have stolen the thunder. Sigh!